Leadership, Board & Financials

Contact Us

Phone: (206) 386-4300
Fax: (206) 682-7240

Executive Team

Robert W. Davidson (Bob)

President & CEO

Brad Rutherford

Chief Operating Officer

Grant Abel

VP of Life Sciences

Derek Baker

Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives & Government Affairs

Susan Bullerdick, Ph.D.

Senior Director of Capital Projects

Efrat Hurvitz

Senior Director of People & Culture

Rick Johnson

VP of Finance

Tim Kuniholm

Senior Director of Public Relations & Strategic Partnerships

Erin Meyer, Ph.D.

VP of Conservation Programs & Partnerships

Tom Nguyen

Senior Director of Technology

Jesse Phillips-Kress

VP of Facilities & Operations

Rachael Weakland

VP of Philanthropy

Jim Wharton, Ph.D.

VP of Conservation Engagement & Learning

Kat Willson

VP of Marketing & Communications

Board Meetings

2023 Meeting Dates

Board meetings are held at 12pm, unless otherwise noted. Meetings are open to the public and will be held at the Seattle Aquarium and simultaneously streamed online.

Upcoming Meetings:

  • July 18 - Meeting agenda; watch on YouTube at 12pm pacific. The July 18 board meeting will be held on the second floor of the Market Square building, located at 1414 Alaskan Way.
  • November 14
  • December 19
Public Comments

Public comments are welcome at the board meetings. A 10-minute public comment period is provided at the beginning of each regular meeting of the board.

A sign-up sheet will be available upon check-in at the Seattle Aquarium. Time will allotted on a first come, first served basis with up to two minutes allowed per speaker. Public comments can also be submitted via email at publiccomment@seattleaquarium.org

All written comments must be submitted by 10:00 am the Monday before the meeting and will be distributed to all board members prior to the meeting. If you have questions regarding board meetings, please send an email to contactus@seattleaquarium.org.

Board Information

For inquiries regarding the Seattle Aquarium Board of Directors or Auxiliary Board please contact us.

Board of Directors


*Michael Guidon, Goldman Sachs

*†Melissa Mager, conservationist and retired attorney
Immediate past chair

*Karissa A. Marker, retired, KPMG

*Erin J. Letey, Fox Rothschild LLP

**Robert W. Davidson
President & CEO

Mike Anderson, Pay Northwest LLC
Kevin L. Blair, Washington Trust Bank
Andrew Bleiman, Tractive GmbH
John R. Braden, retired, Seattle Aquarium
Duncan Butcher, ARTICA
Bill Chapin, NHL Seattle
Eddie Chang, Realogics Sotheby’s International Realty
Cary Clark, Argosy Cruises
Baionne Coleman, Rainier Valley Leadership Academy; The Global Majority Consortium
AP Diaz, Seattle Parks and Recreation
Patti Dill, Community Volunteer
*†Bob C. Donegan, Ivar’s, Inc.
*William T. Einstein, Community Volunteer
Susan L. Gates, retired, Beneficial State Bank
Effie Gleason, Gull Industries
Philip M. Guess, K&L Gates LLP
*†James C. Gurke, retired, Getty Images
†Dan M. Guy III, retired, Columbia Pacific Capital Management
Janet Haberbush, Community Volunteer
*Stephanie Kornblum, Marketing law attorney
Mark E. Kramer, F5 Networks
Katherine A. Krogslund, University of Washington, School of Oceanography
Gary Kunis, Community Volunteer
Andrew J. Lewis, Seattle City Council—District 7
*Lisa C. Luther, Nordstrom
*Laura MacNeil, PNC Bank, N.A.
Dave Magee, CBRE
†J. Terry McLaughlin, retired, The Professional Basketball Club, LLC
Robert W. Power, SEA CON LLC
Tom Raaf, eBay
*†Stuart T. Rolfe, Wright Hotels, Inc.
Casey J. Schuchart, Schuchart
Ivan Seda, BECU
Christian Sinderman, Northwest Passage Consulting
*Gary S. Smith, Lease Crutcher Lewis
*Gary T. Smith, Smith and Stark
Julie Syrdal, Community Volunteer
*†Randy J. Tinseth, retired, The Boeing Company
Marcus Trufant, Trufant Family Foundation; Self Storage; retired Seattle Seahawks
Michael Trzupek, Imagination Technologies
Carla C. Wigen, Laird Norton Wealth Management
Christopher Williams, Parks Alternate
*†George V. Willoughby Jr., retired, King Broadcasting
*Charles Wright, Wright Associates
Susie Wyckoff, Community volunteer

†Ted Ackerley
**William C. Arntz
†Don Audleman
Mary L. Bass
Gini Beck
Lesley Canfield
†Dan Hungate 
Linda K. Johnson
†James P. Kerr
†Paul J. Kundtz
Eric Steinwinder

*Executive committee
†Past chair

Auxiliary Board

The Seattle Aquarium auxiliary board formed in December of 2014 to actively involve Seattle’s young professionals and their communities in the Aquarium’s mission through innovative and engaging programs, events and activities. 


Emily Power, Ocean Made 

Jes Collins, Community Volunteer
Vice chair

Lindsay Everhart, Goldman Sachs

Bill Berger, Duke Energy Sustainable Solutions
Marie Flatley, Meta
Alaina Gregory, Apple
Luke Hamlin, Kestra Medical Technologies
Kendall Krause, Bill and Melinda Gates
Devin Kunysz, SalesForce
Deb Kay Murphy, Frog
Nicole Pargoff, Amplify Consulting Partners
Sophie Riley, AHT Insurance
Meghan Sawyer, Tractive
Ryan Scott, Stellic Design
Bryant Smick, Grafana Labs
Brandon Smith, Amazon
Arun Talwar, Wheelhouse Digital Marketing Group

Annual Reports